Fire Buffs promote the general welfare of the fire and rescue service and protect its heritage and history. Famous Fire Buffs through the years include New York Fire Surgeon Harry Archer, Boston Pops Conductor Arthur Fiedler, New York Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia and - legend has it - President George Washington.

Ready to roll from Springfield Fire Headquarters on North Fountain Avenue

Monday, March 26, 2012


"Original" call signs for Clark County fire stations, courtesy of Brian Halk of Bethel Township Fire Department:

51- Bethel Township (Medway/ Crystal Lakes station)
52- New Carlisle
53- Pike Township/ North Hampton
54- Bethel Township (Donnelsville station)
55- Enon/ Mad River Township fire (Combined with squad to become current station 50)
56- Springfield Township (Rockway station)
57- German Township (Tremont City station)
58- Springfield Township (Beatty station)
59- Husted
61- Christiansburg (Once part of Clark County fire association, number no longer used)
62- Ambulance operated by funeral home in South Charleston
64- 178th Fighter Group, Ohio Air National Guard
71- Miami Township/ Clifton (Once part of association; number transferred to Madison Township EMS, but eventually dropped when EMS combined with fire department)
72- Springfield Township (Garden Acres or "East Side" station)
73- Pitchin
74- Moorefield Township
75- Catawba/ Pleasant Township
76- Harmony Township/ South Vienna
77- Madison Township/ South Charleston
78- German Township (Lawrenceville station)
79- Enon EMS (Combined with Enon fire as current station 50)
95-"Rescue 95" (Husted EMS; eventually combined with fire as part of station 59)